Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums  

Go Back   Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums > General Aquatic Forums > AroReefers

Old 31-07-2005, 08:36 PM   #1
™kok™

Default fowlr question

if i keep a fowlr marine tank ..do i need any special care for the live rocks ... will normal fluorescent bulbs suffice for live rocks.. how often to change the water . do i need to maintain calcium levels ?
Old 31-07-2005, 09:39 PM   #2
cci[RR]us

I'm not a pro but I think that liverocks (LR) do not have specific lighting requirements. Some algae and macroalgae may grow on the LRs but I don't think they are that picky on your lighting provision.

Likewise, I don't think you need to worry about calcium levels for your LRs.

The pros please correct me if I'm wrong, thanks.
Old 31-07-2005, 09:58 PM   #3
KaLiB

Quote:
Originally Posted by ™kok™
if i keep a fowlr marine tank ..do i need any special care for the live rocks ... will normal fluorescent bulbs suffice for live rocks..
If you intend to grow coralline algae, FLs are sufficient otherwise there is absolutely no need for light to keep them alive. There isn't any special care for LR.

Quote:
how often to change the water . do i need to maintain calcium levels ?
How often water change is to be done depends on the reefer. Some do 15%, some 20%, some 25% and the frequence can be weekly, bi-weekly, monthly etc..

There isn't a need to maintain calcium levels unless you intend to grow coralline algae.
Old 01-08-2005, 06:15 PM   #4
™kok™

can i add a few corals all of a sudden .. will they stay alive if i feed them live phytoplankton ....for soft corals
Old 01-08-2005, 09:10 PM   #5
angmoh

Quote:
Originally Posted by ™kok™
can i add a few corals all of a sudden .. will they stay alive if i feed them live phytoplankton ....for soft corals

of course you can add some corals in your tank provided:

1) your tank parameters are stable and ok , ie ammonia,no2=0 , no3 at very low level, preferrably below 15-10 ppm.

2) you have proper lighting (T5 and above)